Research Park Well-Represented Among Innovation Celebration Award Finalists

Categories : Recognition & Awards, Research Park
Posted on: January 14, 2014

Research Park tenants along with EnterpriseWorks graduates, grant awardees, and Entrepreneurs-in-Residence are among the finalists for the Ninth Annual Innovation Celebration Awards, as announced this week. Winners of each award will be announced at the event, held at NCSA (1205 W. Clark, Urbana) on Thursday, February 27, 2014 from 5-8 pm. For more information, and to RSVP, visit

Innovation Celebration recognizes those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions, taken risks, and provided leadership to ensure the continuing economic success of Champaign County, the ongoing success of the University’s economic development mission, and the growth of entrepreneurial talent and energy in the community. 

The entire list of finalists is below; those in orange have ties to the Research Park:

Award Finalists Innovation Transfer Award – University of Illinois 
Dr. Stephen Boppart
Dr. Stephen Sligar
Dr. Scott White 

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Social Venture Award
[co] [lab] Pilot
Dr. Fouad Abd-El-Khalick & the EnLIST Team – University of Illinois

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Student Startup Award
Miss Possible

Entrepreneurial Excellence: New Venture Award
Phi Optics

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Advocacy Award
Ray Price – iFoundry
Jed Taylor – U of I Technology Entrepreneur Center
Dennis Beard – Serra Ventures 

Innovation: Economic Development Impact Award
Fox/Atkins Development
Carlos Nieto – Nieto Enterprises
Walter Lohmann

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Management Award
Dan Cermak – Volition
Mike Folk – HDF Group
Bill Cope – Common Ground Publishing

Innovation: Longevity Award
Acoustic MedSystems
Pavlov Media

Research Park is a sponsor of the annual event, in addition to : the University ofIllinois’ Technology Entrepreneur Center, Office of Corporate Relations, and Office of Technology Management, along with NCSA, Parkland College, Singleton Law Firm, Serra Ventures, Hanson Financial, Ramshaw Real Estate, Pixo, Pavlov Media, Meyer Capel, Busey, Carle, Martin Hood Friese & Associates, IllinoisVENTURES, Fox Atkins Development, the Illinois Small Business Development Center at Champaign County EDC, and the Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District.